No icon

senior citizen award

Nominations sought for senior citizen award

Nominations are open for the 20th annual Senior Citizen of the Year award, sponsored by the Barry County Commission on Aging and Hastings City Bank. The award highlights contributions made by individuals age 60 and older to civic and social life in Barry County. It focuses on the positive benefits of remaining active while growing older. The award will be presented at the COA’s annual Christmas party Dec. 13 in Hastings. The Senior Citizen of the Year receives a free professional portrait, courtesy of Hastings City Bank.

“The Commission on Aging honors older adults every year through its volunteer recognition program,” COA director Tammy Pennington said in a press release. “This award offers a special chance for the community to single out that one special older person and present a token of their admiration and appreciation. There are other community awards, but this award specifically highlights the achievements and talents of our senior citizens.”

Hastings City Bank has been co-sponsoring the award since 2000.

Nominees for the award should be 60 or better and residents of Barry County. Consideration should be given to the contribution each nominee has made to the local community. Examples might include types of activities in which the nominee has been involved, how his or her involvement has benefited the community, and the number of people who have been affected by those contributions.

Nomination forms for the Senior Citizen of the Year award are available at the Commission on Aging office and on the COA website, Nominations can be from individuals or groups.

Past winners of the award have included Kensinger Jones, Florence Marble, Joyce Weinbrecht, Don Reid, Nyla Nye, Ruth Newton, Russ Nash, Earl McMullin, Mabel Boylon, Russ and Jean Hammond, Ruby Ball, Howard Gibson, Dr. Larry Blair, Lois Bremer, Donna Brown, Margaret Hollenbeck, Don and Jan Geukes; Jerry and Sandy Pattok, Keith Beebe, and last year’s winner, Charlie Pullen.

Nominations should be sent to the Commission on Aging, 320 W. Woodlawn Ave., Hastings, MI 49058. All nominations must be received no later than 5 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 21.

Comment As:

Comment (0)